Exciting New Archaeological Education Tool!


I just discovered the Virtual World Project!

It is a collection of 360′ tours of archaeological sites in Jordan and Israel. Included is al-Mudayna, where I excavated with Wilfrid Laurier University in 2004. It’s amazing how spending 2 months in a place can make you still miss it 7 years later.

Also included is one of my favourite sites in Jordan, Qasr Amra. I never had the chance to visit this site as it is much farther out in the Jordanian desert (hopefully I will one day), but it is a gorgeous bath house from the Umayyad period, probably dating from the early 8th century. It is most famous for its well preserved frescoes. Anyone who knows me will attest that I am always drawn by the frescoes, no matter where or when a site is. I have always found them to be an unequaled window into the mind of the artist and in turn the people of that time. Far more personal that tools or other utilitarian artefacts.

Qasr Amra Frescoes in the Bath House

So, if you fancy a walk through tour around some of the best archaeological sites in the middle east, check it out!

About newmuseumkat

I am a museologist and an archaeologist. I love both, but they work best when mixed together.
This entry was posted in Archaeology, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

