Travel Series: My Night on Mt. Sinai


This story took place in April of 2007, on the Sinai Peninsula in Egypt. Although I understand that it is not the safest place to travel at the present, 5 years ago it was a popular destination. The main tourist hub was around the boardwalk town of Dahab on the gulf of Aqaba. While there most people chose to climb nearby Mt. Sinai; the mountain scaled by Moses in the Old Testament.

The View from the top of Mt. Sinai

It was suggested to us that we choose to climb the mountain at night, as it was much cooler than the day. And so, after procuring the necessary flashlights,  we did.

………………………………

“Only 750 steps to go,” my Bedouin guide informs me, as I stare up the seemingly vertical surface of Mount Sinai. This morning the idea of making this legendary climb seemed like a fun idea. I figured it would be nothing more than a nocturnal hike up a mountain to watch the sunrise, what could be nicer? A trail and stairs have been added since Moses made this climb, so how hard could it be?

At 11:00pm my friends and I catch the bus that will take us to meet our guide at the base of Mount Sinai and start the two and a half hour climb.

Excitement level – high.

‘This was not the leisurely hike that I had anticipated;’ I think, an hour into my climb, as I trudge up the mountain. I am turning down the constant offers of “Camel? Camel?” In my basic knowledge of Arabic I answer, “La, Shukran.” – “No, Thank You”

Excitement level – waning.

“Only 750 steps to go.” I look up. ‘These are not steps!’ I’m slightly panicky. ‘These are boulders arranged by giants to vaguely resemble what we mere mortals refer to as steps.’  I groan; it’s roughly 3:00 in the morning.

Excitement level – gone. 

About 400 ‘steps’ up I narrowly avoid being knocked back down the mountain by a rampaging donkey.

Excitement level – In pain.

I made it! I’m at the top, the sunrise is beautiful, but I’m freezing cold, wrapped in a heavy wool blanket; my Bedouin guide answers my complaints with, “Cold is a state of mind.” I look him in the eye and reply, “I’m from Canada, No it’s not.”

It was worth it.

Bundled up in my blanket watching the sun rise over the mountains.
– Photo credit: Diana Ziegler

………………………………

I had written this narrative of my climb a few years ago, but it is missing the best part. When we arrived at the top, our bedouin guide led us to his spot – the place on the mountain he has claimed exclusively for his climbers to rest and wait for the sun to rise. His spot was circular, approx. 8 feet in diameter and completely convex, with nothing between you and a 2285 metre drop to the jagged rocks below. So, of course, he tells us to have a nap… better not roll in your sleep.

We met up again with the donkey on the way back down the mountain.
– Photo credit: Diana Ziegler


About newmuseumkat

I am a museologist and an archaeologist. I love both, but they work best when mixed together.
This entry was posted in Archaeology, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Travel Series: My Night on Mt. Sinai

  1. Anita Mac says:

    Wow. glad you decided it was worth it in the end. I did a similar trek to Macchu Pichu. While the walk in the dark was a challenge at times, it was totally worth it! Would love to do this climb. The sunrise looks gorgeous.

Leave a Reply

