I’m Back!


It has been six months since my last post on this blog, and nine months since my second last post. The big question is why? Why have I fallen into a slump?

It hasn’t been because of a lack of ideas since I have at least a half dozen posts that I had started and were stored on this account as a draft. And probably dozens more that never even made it that far. In fact, this post itself sat a couple weeks as a draft.

In all honesty, I  think I have been pretty burnt out. I have recently become interested in the Meyers-Briggs personality types, and now I think I understand why that burn out occurred.

As it turns out, my personality type is  INFP (Introverted, Intuitive, Feeling, perceptive),  The Dreamy Idealist. I think my family and friends would find the description quite apt. I don’t want to go into the reasons here, but basically my personal life has been extremely contradictory to my personality. This has led to daily life wearing me out and draining the energy that I used to have for my projects. Now that I understand better what these contradictions are, I can work to right them.

And so, I am back!

I have begun painting again, and working toward a couple personal projects that I need to give my priority.

One of these projects is my painting, So, if you are interested in commissioning a painting, pet portrait, travel memory, etc. Please take a look at my art site NewMuseumKat’s Art

I finished a small painting of my cat Pickle this morning 🙂

Pickle as a bobble-headed kitten

Pickle as a bobble-headed kitten

Cheers!

p.s. I welcome no comments about the ‘pop psychology’ of personality types. I do not care.

 

About newmuseumkat

I am a museologist and an archaeologist. I love both, but they work best when mixed together.
This entry was posted in Admin Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’m Back!

  1. robertlfs says:

    Hmmm . . . I don’t know if this violates your not welcoming comments on personality types, but I have my own interesting experience on Meyers-Briggs, which I will run through briefly here. I first took a Meyers-Briggs test maybe 30 years ago. I scored INFP and have so scored every since. About 7 years ago I was sitting in a job and feeling completely at odds with my existence. On a lark of sorts, I decided to take the Meyers-Briggs test again. I came out INFP again, but this time really studied the personality type. Everything my personality type was poorly suited for, was what I did on that job. Everything my INFP type was well suited for, were things I used to do, but were not part of my employment at that time. I had a tremendous sense of relief that I was in fact trying to fit a square peg into a round whole, thus, I should have been frustrated.

    I made a decision to change my employment, got back into academia, expanded that to include museums and I have never looked back. I often say now that if I were to retire tomorrow and take on a volunteer job, it would be very much like what I do for a salary today.

    So, I know that it is now trendy to slam Meyers-Briggs for what they are not. I respond that, no, the tests are not the final word on personality, but I have consistently found them to be a fantastic source of reflection and self-direction. I can say that the Meyers Briggs test I took in 2006 was a great “aha moment” for me.

    Also, the book Please Understand Me II by David Keirsey is an excellent resource for exploring Meyers-Briggs results.

    http://www.keirsey.com/pum_2.aspx

    And for folks who knock Meyers-Briggs, 12-step recovery groups, and so forth – I too just really don’t care – they work very well for me.

    • newmuseumkat says:

      Hi Robert,

      This doesn’t violate it at all, lol, and very well illustrates my point about the Meyers-Briggs prsonality types. I am having that bit of an aha moment now, and I am finding it incredibly helpful in understanding my motivations, frustrations, etc. From what I have read about us INFPs we do have a harder time understanding ourselves than other types, simply because we are so dominated by our intuition and our feelings; we absolutely know ‘something’, but society can articulate why that ‘something’ is wrong. We find it difficult to articulate why, for us, it is right. (at least that’s how I interpret it).

      I had an interesting experience recently where one of my staff was talking about her life and trying figure out what she wants to do, why, etc. and listening to her talk I had a very strong feeling that she is an INFP as well. I had her take the profile test and sure enough she is.

      That too, getting others to immediately take the tests, is apparantly quite a characteristic of an INFP. Every other INFP I know has done just that.

      Thank you very much for sharing!

Leave a Reply

