Ely, Cambridgeshire


The Wandering Museum Consultant

Ely Cathedral Ely Cathedral

During my week spent volunteering at the Farmland Museum I was staying in the small city of Ely (pronounced ee-lee), with a friend of mine from the University of Leicester, Lindsay. To whom I must express immense gratitude for inviting me to stay with her.

Ely is a lovely small city just north of Cambridge. Unfortunately while I was there the weather was a bit rubbish, grey, dreary, and rainy most evenings.  I was also working each day, and catching the bus back into Ely (getting home after 6pm).  As all the museums and most of the businesses close by 5pm,  this did not work very well to take in all that Ely has to offer. The city was the home to Oliver Cromwell, and his former home is now a museum; they have a city museum, and there is of course the Ely Cathedral. The Cathedral also contains a stained glass window…

View original post 244 more words

About newmuseumkat

I am a museologist and an archaeologist. I love both, but they work best when mixed together.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

